Being A Mother

Becoming a mother…whether you are ready for it or not…is a big step towards being able to handle a lot of responsibility and involves total commitment. The moment I saw my first child I was overcome with tears. I had been carrying this precious life in me for nine months and was holding a perfect human…10 fingers, 10 toes and a cute button nose. My daughter had a full head of hair and the nurses would “fix it up fancy” every chance they got! I was so nervous handling my new baby girl. I was so afraid that I was going to drop her or hurt her somehow…she seemed so small and fragile.

When my son was born 3 years later I was still nervous when I held him but not as much as I was with my daughter. By now I was a pro at handling a baby…I was more worried about both my children’s future and if I would be a good mother to them both. I was so afraid of messing things up and if I did mess them up, not being able to fix them.

The responsibility that comes with having a child, especially two children has been overwhelming at times. But I feel that I have done a good job. I learned to give my love to another human being, unconditionally…which at first I did not think was possible. I also learned how to protect my children…like a mother lion watching her cubs. Yes, I messed up a lot BUT things always seem to smooth out.

I don’t think I have done too bad as a mother. My daughter will be 22 on April 16th and she is married with a beautiful baby boy. She is beautiful and smart and I think she will go far in this life. My son is now 18 and is smart, handsome and strong. He is currently in the United States Army training to be an Airborne Ranger and is doing wonderfully.

I am very proud of my children!  Colt and Vickie have hopes, dreams and goals for their lives and I pray that they succeed in accomplishing what they set out to do.

One thought on “Being A Mother

Leave a Reply

