Story of a Sneaky Husband

Last Tuesday was Valentine’s Day.  Well, as many of you know, I do not like Valentine’s Day. It has always been a horrible holiday thanks to my childhood experiences.  I posted the following on a previous post…

I don’t like Valentine’s Day and I don’t think I ever have. I prefer to celebrate this holiday by ignoring it but I have found that it is hard to ignore. Every store you go to puts Valentine related stuff in your face. Advertisements, cards, treats, gifts and more offer promises of everlasting love. I think it is all bullshit!

I think my dislike for Valentine’s Day began many, many years ago in Elementary School. Each year the teacher would force all students to bring in a decorated shoebox for our Valentine’s Day party. Students would be given a list of names of every student in their class and were expected to make a Valentine to give to each one on the list. I would work hours to pick out the perfect little valentine card for each person. I was always so excited to give them out as school…only to be disappointed at peoples comments about my cards. Kids can say some really mean and hateful things. While I don’t remember the exact words, I do remember how much they hurt and how totally alone I always felt.

But I digress.  For Valentine’s Day this year I stopped at Dairy Queen on the way home from work to get Hubby and I a treat.  I got Hubby a Peanut Buster Parfait and for myself I got a Choco Cherry Love Blizzard.

When I got home I made hubby close his eyes and then I placed his treat in his hand. The smile on his face when he opened his eyes made my day.  My day got even better when I turned around and went into our computer room.  Sitting on my desk was the following items:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Now to some of you this may not be something all that great.   But to me it meant the world! 🙂  Why?  Well, there are several reason why it means so much to me.

  1. Hubby knows I don’t like Valentines Day but yet he tried to make it special for me.
  2. Because Hubby is not suppose to walk due to having foot surgery last month, and is not suppose to leave the house.  Which means he actually planned out how to get gifts for me.
  3. Hubby got these items for me because he wanted to and not because he was forced to

So, he was rather sneaky this Valentine’s Day…and it makes me love him even more.

2 thoughts on “Story of a Sneaky Husband

  1. The ice cream makes me sad…sad Panda 😦 I’m joking! I just really miss DQ, not that we ever went often but it was nice to have the option to. We have Baskin Robins here on base and the Japanese Mall’s do as well.

Leave a Reply

